Culture Spirituality

Bedtime Stories with Mike

I like reading aloud. So during this time when much of Australia’s population is in lockdown I thought it would be a nice offering to record myself reading a book that has inspired me and will hopefully inspire others. I’ve already uploaded a few chapters on my private Facebook profile, but here I’m making them available to everyone. I’ll keep adding a couple of chapters each day until the book is complete.

The book is called Original Wisdom – Stories of an Ancient Way of Knowing by Robert Wolff, a psychologist who spent some time living with and getting to know the Sng’oi – the indigenous people of Malaysia’s rainforest.

From the blurb on the back of the book: “Psychologist Robert Wolff, who has spent a lifetime with indigenous people from many parts of the world, lived with the Sng’oi during the years he spent in Malaysia. He learned their language, shared their food, slept in their shelters, and came to love and admire these people who respect silence, trust time to reveal and heal, and live entirely in the present with a sense of joy. Even more, he came to recognise the depth of our alienation from these ways of living.

“Much more than a collective document of a disappearing people, these stories hold a mirror to our own existence, allowing us to see how far we have wandered from the ways of the Sng’oi. And ultimately they challenge us, in our fragmented world, to rediscover within ourselves the Sng’oi’s humanity, trust, and sense of connection to all creation.”

I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed reading it.

i) Introduction by Thom Hartmann, author of The Last Hours of Ancient Sunlight

ii) Foreword

Chapter 1. Assumptions

Chapter 2. Draw Something, Anything

Chapter 3. Bali and the Barong

Chapter 4. Different Realities

Chapter 5. Succession

Chapter 6. Dimensions of Healing

Chapter 7. The People

Chapter 8. The Real World, The Shadow World

Chapter 9. Reading and Writing

Chapter 10. Trees in the Jungle

Chapter 11. Slaves

Chapter 12. The Mango Tree

Chapter 13. Shaman

Chapter 14. Learning to Be Human Again

Chapter 15. Privacy and Alienation

Chapter 16. What Do Those Hundred Men Do?

Chapter 17. We Look After Each Other

Chapter 18. Afterword